February’s Notable Hirings, Firings, Promotions, and Mergers

February 28th, 2015

After only eight months, Sony Music Australia’s General Manager of Asia Pacific Marketing Tim Kelly leaves his position.

Music Director Alan Gilbert announced his planned resignation from the New York Philharmonic in 2017.

Chris Graham leaves behind his position as VP of Sales and Marketing at Wind Up Records for an Artist Relations position at Amazon Music.

Future of Music Coalition has a number of new appointments, including Casey Rae as CEO and seven new board members: Ryan Chisholm of Nettwerk Music Group, Thao Nguyen of Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, Benji Rogers of Pledge Music, Merrill Garbus of Tune Yards, Dick Huey of Toolshed, Ken Umezaki of Digital Daruma, and Vicki Nauman of CrossBorderWorks and SXSW.

Thomas Hesse joins MusicxMatch’s Board of Advisors, leaving behind an executive position at Sony Music.

The National Music Publisher’s Association welcomes Amelia Wang, formerly Chief of Staff for Congresswoman Judy Chu, as VP of Industry Relations and Government Affairs.

Universal Music Group’s President Rob Wells announced this month that he will be stepping down from his position after 14 years.

Mark Norman left LiveNation for the same title, SVP of Global Touring, at AEG Live.

Gregg Nadel, previously SVP of A&R and Marketing at Atlantic Records, has been appointed GM of Elektra Records.

Lauren Ceradini departs from Epic Records to join Capitol Music Group as VP of Publicity.

Venancia de Castro has been appointed as the new Executive Director of AEG Brasil.

Van Toffler, President of MTV Networks Music & Logo Group, is stepping down from his position to create and manage his own company focusing on content creation.

SoundExchange makes two new appointments this month: Jacqueline Peterson, previously SVP of Corporate Communications at LiveNation Entertainment, is their new SVP of Communications, while Mark Eisenberg, formerly Global Head of Content Acquisition and Strategy at MixRadio, is their new SVP of Strategic Initiatives.

Gabe Tesoriero of Def Jam Recordings has been promoted to EVP of Media and Artist Relations.

Frank Taubert is stepping down from his position as CEO of 24-7 Entertainment to serve as an advisor to 24-7’s parent company, Media-Saturn Holding.

Jackie Shuman, previously Head of Sync at Crush Management, has been appointed Music Supervisor for Good Ear Music Supervision.

Schott Music has appointed Richard Dinnadge as International Business Development Director.

ASCAP has promoted former SVP of Distribution and Repertory Lynne Lummel to EVP of the new Transformation Management Office.

Global Entertainment has appointed Randy Phillips as their new CEO.

87th Annual Academy Award Winners

February 23rd, 2015

Awards season is abound, and it’s now time to honor those in the film industry who were honored for their achievements at Sunday’s Acedmy Awards. A full list of winners is available here, but a few notable winners are listed below.

  • Best Picture won by American Sniper
  • Actor in A Leading Role won by Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything
  • Actress in A Leading Role won by Julianne Moore for Still Alice 
  • Best Supporting Actor won by J.K. Simmons for Whiplash
  • Best Supporting Actress won by Patricia Arquette for Boyhood
  • Best Animated Feature Film won by Big Hero 6
  • Best Director won by Emmanuel Lubezki for Birdman 
  • Best Music won by Alexander Desplat for Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Best Short Film won by Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed for Feast

Event: Innovative Women in New Music- A Concert Music Showcase, Brunch, and Panel

February 10th, 2015

Meet industry professionals in an intimate setting at the Women in Music upcoming brunch and networking panel. Organized to celebrate new and unique work by female musicians, this event includes networking over a buffet brunch, an artists’ and composers panel, and a concert music showcase. The keynote speaker for the event will be Laurie Anderson, with additional performances by Katherine Supové, Angelica Negron, and Martha Mooke. General Admission seats are available at $40, while a $50 VIP seat includes a complimentary Bloody Mary and coffee as well as front row premium seats.


57th Annual Grammy Award Winners

February 8th, 2015

The time has come again to celebrate those in the music industry who were honored for their achievements at Sunday’s Grammy Awards. A full list of winners is available here, but a few notable winners are listed below.

  • Best New Artist won by Sam Smith.
  • Album of The Year won by Beck’s Morning Phase
  • Best Rock Performance won by Jack White for “Lazaretto”
  • Best Rap Performance won by Kendrick Lamar for “I”
  • Best R&B Performance won by Beyoncé feat. Jay Z for “Drunk In Love”
  • Best Dance Recording won by Clean Bandit feat. Jess Glynn for “Rather Be”
  • Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media won by composer Alex Despat, for Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Best Music Video  won by Pharrell for “Happy”
  • Producer of The Year, Non-Classical  won by Max Martin
  • Best Arrangement, Instrumental or A Cappella won by Pentatonix for “Daft Punk”
  • Best Remixed Recording, Non Classical won by Tijs Michiel Verwest for John Legend- “All of Me (Tiesto Birthday Remix)”